Logo
Titelbild Titelbild Titelbild

H.H. the Dalai Lama and the Tibet Institute Rikon

Print this page

Picture of H.H. Dalai Lama Upon the wish of H.H. the Dalai Lama, the Tibet Institute Rikon was founded in 1966 by the brothers Henri and Jacques Kuhn. The institute is under the patronage of H.H. the Dalai Lama who chooses the Abbots and assigns the monastery its duties. Providing for the spiritual needs of Tibetans of all traditions in Switzerland and in Europe, constitutes the main duty of the monks. As is the case in all monasteries in Tibet and in exile, its residence quarters are ready to receive H.H. at any time.

Not having received permission to enter Switzerland on the occasion of the consecration of the monastery, H.H. the Dalai Lama came to Rikon for the first time in 1973. For all Tibetans in Switzerland and Europe, most of whom saw their spiritual leader for the first time in their life, this was a moving event (picture below).

Over the years the Dalai Lama visited his ‚outpost’ in the west for a total of 14 times: in 1973, 1974, 1979, 1983, 1985 (Kalachakra in Rikon, consecration of the stupa), in 1988 (20th anniversary of the Tibet Institute), 1989, 1993 (25th anniversary of the Tibet Institute, inauguration of the library), 1994, 1995 (60th birthday of H.H.), 1998 (30th anniversary of the Tibet Institute, blessing of the prayer drums), 2005 (picture gallery), 2010 (picture gallery) and in 2013 (picture gallery).

Picture of H.H. Dalai Lama

Logo
Titelbild Titelbild Titelbild

S.H. der Dalai Lama und das Tibet-Institut Rikon

Seite drucken

Foto des Dalai Lama Auf Wunsch Seiner Heiligkeit des Dalai Lama wird 1966 das Tibet-Institut von den Brüdern Henri und Jacques Kuhn in Rikon gegründet. S.H. der Dalai Lama übernimmt die Schirmherrschaft. Er wählt die Äbte aus und erteilt dem Kloster seine Aufgaben. Hauptauftrag an die Mönche ist die Sicherstellung der spirituellen Betreuung für Tibeter aller Schulrichtungen in der Schweiz und in Europa. Wie in jedem Kloster in Tibet sowie im Exil steht seine Residenz auch hier jederzeit für S.H. bereit.

Nachdem er zur Klosterweihe keine Einreiseerlaubnis in die Schweiz erhielt, kommt S.H. der Dalai Lama das erste Mal 1973 nach Rikon. Für alle Tibeter in der Schweiz und in ganz Europa war dieser Anlass ein bewegendes Ereignis. Die meisten von ihnen sahen ihr Oberhaupt zum ersten Mal in ihrem Leben (Bild unten).

Im Lauf der Jahre besucht der Dalai Lama seine "Aussenstation" im Westen insgesamt 14 Mal: 1973, 1974, 1979, 1983, 1985 (Kalachakra in Rikon, Stupa-Weihe), 1988 (20 Jahre Tibet-Institut), 1989, 1993 (25 Jahre Tibet-Institut, Einweihung der Bibliothek), 1994, 1995 (60. Geburtstag S.H.), 1998 (30 Jahre Tibet-Institut, Segnung der Gebetstrommeln), 2005 (Bilder-Galerie), 2010 (Bilder-Galerie) und 2013 (Bilder-Galerie).

Foto des Dalai Lama