Logo
Titelbild Titelbild Titelbild

Biographies

Print this page

Ven. Lama Tenzin Jottotshang

Photo The Ven. Lama Tenzin Jottotshang, Gelug, was born in Lhasa in 1942. During his years of schooling he was educated in Tibetan script and calligraphy. Afterwards he joined Sera Monastery and studied Buddhist philosophy. In 1959 he left Tibet and went into exile in Buxar/North India, where he continued his studies and taught Tibetan script and grammar to the monks. Together with three other monks and upon the wish of the Dalai Lama, he accompanied the first Abbot of the monastic Tibet Institute, Geshe Ugyen Tseten to Switzerland in 1967. He acts as representative of the monastic community in the Tibetan community of Switzerland since its foundation in 1973. From 1980 to 1982 he was director of the Tibet Office in Switzerland and in 1990 he was part of the election commission for Tibetan Members of Parliament in Europe. Since 2001 he represents the monastic community in the foundation committee. For 37 years he taught Tibetan language, script, religion and history in the Tibetan school in Rikon. He is author of the modern German-Tibetan textbook, which appeared in its 3rd edition in 2003 and is very popular. Up until today he continues teaching Buddhism and Tibetan language to Tibetan and Western students.

Ven. Lama Gendün Gyatso

Photo The Ven. Lama Gendün Gyatso, Sakya, was born in Markham/East Tibet. As a child he learnt to read and write with a Lama living in retreat. At the age of eleven he joined Dechen Tenphel Ling Monastery where he learnt Buddhist scriptures by heart and received an education in rituals and Buddhist chants. Five years later he was sent to the main Sakya Monastery. Under the guidance of the Abbot of Sakya he studied the dialectic scriptures Rigter, Prajna Paramita, Domsum and the writings of Sakya Pandita until he had to flee from Tibet to India after the invasion of the Chinese in 1959. He continued his studies with a thousand other monks of all four traditions in Buxor/North India. In 1969 he went to the Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies in Varanasi, where he received the degree of Acharya (spiritual master) with distinction. He then joined the Sakya Centre in Rajpur as a teacher. Upon the wish of H.H. Sakya Trizin he went to Switzerland in 1979 and became member of the monks’ community of the monastic Tibet Institute, where he continues living today, giving teachings to Tibetans and interested western people.

Ven. Acharya Pema Wangyal

Photo The Ven. Acharya Pema Wangyal, Kagyu, was born in Orissa in 1976 and went to the Tibetan school in Mussoorie. In 1987 he became monk in Thubtan Sangag Choeling Monastery in Darjeeling, an education centre of the Drukpa Kagyu tradition, and there studied the basics of Buddhist philosophy. The famous Yogi Sherab introduced him to the teachings of Ngondro, which he then practiced in retreat. He received the full teachings and initiations of the line of H.H. Gyalwa Drukchen, as well as of his master Singdrak Rinpoche and was educated in Buddhist rituals, Buddhist chants and the making of mandalas. In addition, he attended classes in natural sciences, English and Hindi. From 1999 until his departure for Switzerland in September 2006 he studied the Indian and Tibetan classics of Buddhist philosophy, Sankrit and English at the Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies, Varanasi. He conducted the rituals for the Kagyud Relief Fund as chant leader. Since 2001 he is involved with the Indo-Tibetan Friendship Movement and does voluntary social work. At the Tibet Institute Rikon he is the representative of the Kagyu tradition.

Ven. Geshe Jampa Dadak

Photo Year of birth: 1963
Place of birth: Shimla, India
Tibetan tradition: Gelug
Monastery in India: Sera Mey Monastery, Bylakuppe
Monastic degree: Geshe
Admission to Rikon Monastery: 2012

 

 

 

 

Ven. Geshe Jampa Rapten

Photo Year of birth: 1971
Place of birth: Kandze, Tibet
Tibetan tradition: Gelug
Monastery in India: Sera Jey Monastery, Bylakuppe
Monastic degree: Geshe Lharampa
Admission to Rikon Monastery: 2012

 

 

 

 

Ven. Lopoen Khenrab Woser

Photo Year of birth: 1976
Place of birth: Sakya, Tibet
Tibetan tradition: Sakya
Monastery in India: Sakya Centre, Dehradun
Monastic degree: Lopoen
Admission to Rikon Monastery: 2015

 

 

 

 

Ven. Lopoen Kunchok Dhargyal

Photo Year of birth: 1980
Place of birth: Drango, Tibet
Tibetan tradition: Nyingma
Monastery in India: Namdroling Monastery, Bylakuppe
Monastic degree: Lopoen
Admission to Rikon Monastery: 2016

Logo
Titelbild Titelbild Titelbild

Biographien

Seite drucken

Ew. Lama Tenzin Jottotshang

Foto Der Ew. Lama Tenzin Jottotshang, Gelug, ist 1942 in Lhasa geboren. Während seiner Schulzeit wird er in tibetischer Schrift und Kalligrafie ausgebildet. Danach tritt er in das Kloster Sera ein und studiert buddhistische Philosophie. 1959 verlässt er Tibet und geht im indischen Exil nach Buxar/Nordindien, wo er sein Studium fortsetzt. Dort unterrichtet er die Mönche in tibetischer Schrift und Grammatik. Auf Wunsch des Dalai Lama begleiten er und noch drei Mönche den ersten Abt des Klösterlichen Tibet-Institutes, Geshe Ugyen Tseten, 1967 in die Schweiz. Er ist Vertreter der Mönchsgemeinschaft in der Tibeter Gemeinschaft der Schweiz seit ihrer Gründung 1973. Von 1980 bis 1982 ist er Leiter des Tibet-Office in der Schweiz und 1990 in der Wahlkommission für die tibetischen Parlamentarier in Europa. Seit 2001 vertritt er die Mönchsgemeinschaft im Stiftungsrat. In der Tibeterschule Rikon unterrichtete er während 37 Jahren tibetische Sprache, Schrift, Religion und Geschichte. Er ist der Verfasser des Neuzeitlichen deutsch-tibetischen Lehrbuches, das 2003 in 3. Auflage erscheint und sich grosser Beliebtheit erfreut. Bis heute unterrichtet er tibetische und westliche Schüler in Buddhismus und tibetischer Sprache.

Ew. Lama Gendün Gyatso

Foto Der Ew. Lama Gendün Gyatso, Sakya, ist in Markham/Osttibet, geboren. Als Kind lernt er bei einem Lama, der im Retreat lebt, lesen und schreiben. Mit elf Jahren tritt er in das Kloster Dechen Tenphel Ling ein. Dort lernt er buddhistische Texte auswendig und erhält eine Ausbildung in Ritual und Gesang. Nach fünf Jahren wird er in das Stammkloster Sakya gesandt. Er studiert unter der Leitung des Abtes von Sakya die dialektischen Werke Rigter, Prajna Paramita, Domsum und die Werke von Sakya Pandita, bis er 1959 vor den Chinesen nach Indien fliehen muss. Dort setzt er seine Studien mit weiteren 1'000 Mönchen aller vier Schulrichtungen in Buxar/Nordost-Indien fort. 1969 geht er an das Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies in Varanasi, an dem er mit Auszeichnung den geistlichen Rang eines Acharya (spiritueller Meister) erwirbt. Anschliessend ist er als Lehrer am Sakya Zentrum in Rajpur tätig. 1979 kommt er auf Wunsch von S.H. Sakya Trizin in die Schweiz und wird Mitglied der Mönchsgemeinschaft des Klösterlichen Tibet-Institutes, wo er bis heute lebt und Belehrungen für Tibeter und westliche Interessierte gibt.

Ew. Acharya Pema Wangyal

Foto Der Ew. Acharya Pema Wangyal, Kagyu, ist 1976 in Orissa geboren und geht in Mussorie in die tibetische Schule. 1987 wird er Mönch im Kloster Thubtan Sangag Choeling in Darjeeling, einem Ausbildungszentrum der Drukpa Kagyu Tradition. Dort studiert er die Grundlagen der buddhistischen Philosophie. Der berühmte Yogi Sherab führt ihn in die Lehre von Ngondro ein, das er dann im Retreat praktiziert. Er erhält die vollen Unterweisungen und Einweihungen der Linie von S.H. Gyalwa Drukchen sowie seinem Meister, Singdrak Rinpoche und wird in buddhistischem Ritual, Musik und der Herstellung von Mandalas ausgebildet, besucht aber auch den Unterricht in naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern, Englisch und Hindi. Von 1999 bis zu seiner Abreise in die Schweiz im September 2006 studiert er am Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies, Varanasi, die indischen und tibetischen Klassiker der buddhistischen Philosophie, Sanskrit und Englisch. Er leitet als Vorsänger die Rituale für den Kagyud Relief Fund. Seit 2001 engagiert er sich im Indo-Tibetan Friendship Movement und arbeitet ehrenamtlich in sozialen Diensten. Am Tibet-Institut Rikon ist er der Vertreter der Kagyu Schule.

Ew. Geshe Jampa Dadak

Photo Geburtsjahr: 1963
Geburtsort: Shimla, India
Tibetische Tradition: Gelug
Kloster in Indien: Sera Mey Monastery, Bylakuppe
Monastischer Grad: Geshe
Eintritt ins Kloster Rikon: 2012

 

 

 

 

Ew. Geshe Jampa Rapten

Photo Geburtsjahr: 1971
Geburtsort: Kandze, Tibet
Tibetische Tradition: Gelug
Kloster in Indien: Sera Jey Monastery, Bylakuppe
Monastischer Grad: Geshe Lharampa
Eintritt ins Kloster Rikon: 2012

 

 

 

 

Ew. Lopön Khenrab Woser

Photo Geburtsjahr: 1976
Geburtsort: Sakya, Tibet
Tibetische Tradition: Sakya
Kloster in Indien: Sakya Centre, Dehradun
Monastischer Grad: Lopön
Eintritt ins Kloster Rikon: 2015

 

 

 

 

Ew. Lopön Kunchok Dhargyal

Photo Geburtsjahr: 1980
Geburtsort: Drango, Tibet
Tibetische Tradition: Nyingma
Kloster in Indien: Namdroling Monastery, Bylakuppe
Monastischer Grad: Lopön
Eintritt ins Kloster Rikon: 2016